Global Pluralism Award 2021 (CAD $150,000 prize)

Deadline: June 30, 2020

The Global Pluralism Award celebrates achievement and excellence in the field of pluralism.

The Award is presented once every two years to individuals, organizations, governments and businesses of any nationality. Through their remarkable and sustained achievements, awardees contribute to building more inclusive societies in which human diversity is protected.
Presented by the Global Centre for Pluralism, an international research and education centre located in Ottawa, Canada, the Award aims to

Raise the international profile of pluralism, defined as a principle of respect for diversity,
Identify and disseminate innovative and successful approaches to pluralism globally, and
Recognize and raise the profile of exemplary organizations, individuals or other entities seeking to advance pluralism.

Who is eligible?
A wide range of disciplines
Nominees must demonstrate remarkable and sustained achievement in any of the wide range of disciplines related to pluralism. These disciplines include:

  • legal reform
  • human rights
  • democracy promotion,
  • social cohesion
  • education
  • ethnic relations
  • conflict resolution
  • peacebuilding
  • migration and integration

Please note that the above is not an exhaustive list.

International Nominees

Eligible nominees from all countries are eligible, including:

  • individuals (e.g. artists, journalists, academics, policy-makers, filmmakers, etc.);
  • civil society organizations (e.g. professional associations, faith-based organizations, labour unions, non-profit research or educational institutions, local community groups, non-governmental organizations, foundations, think tanks, etc.);
  • social enterprises;
  • corporations;
  • educational, research and policy institutions (public or private);
    local/municipal, regional or federal/national branches of governments, etc.

Please note that the above is not an exhaustive list.

Nominees must be living. The Award cannot be given posthumously.
Nominees must not be an agency or employee of any of the Centre’s founding partners, namely the Government of Canada and the Aga Khan Development Network.
Nominees must not be members of the jury, the Centre’s Board or staff or a consultant receiving remuneration from the Centre at the time of nomination. Close relations and organizations owned or operated by the jury, Screening Committee, the Centre’s Board members and staff are also non-eligible.
Individuals and organizations nominated for the Award must not have been found guilty of committing violent crimes, terrorism, or other criminal activities; or have publicly held extremist views.

To apply or nominate, click here.

Write a comment